Reading Time: 11 min read

Web hosting is a big deal and it’s only becoming a bigger deal. I’m sure you’ve heard names like Squarespace, Wix, Bluehost, Hostgator, and so on.

From simple website builders to dedicated hosting, carving out your space on the internet is an important rite of our time.

Ever heard of GreenGeeks? Well, you may not have. If you have, it’s probably been from an article talking about top hosting platforms, or most likely ecologically friendly web services.

Otherwise though, it’s stayed out of the news. It’s not really that big, so it makes sense that it’s not been discussed too much in the mainstream hosting world.

But it is gaining traction, that’s for sure, and the eco-friendliness is only part of it (a big part of it, but not all of it).

GreenGeeks is not perfect, but it is a powerful package for people interesting in affordable and easy web hosting solutions.

Keep reading to see just what I mean.

How fast is GreenGeeks Hosting?

greengeeks-speed

GreenGeeks Hosting server speed test – A+. Credit: Bitcatcha

GreenGeeks Cons

I go with the bad news first, and as GreenGeeks is less well known, it’s only to be expected there will be some flaws.

The pricing itself isn’t bad, unless you’re paying per month of service. In fact, my main issue with their pricing is how much of a large time commitment you need to make to really get that bang-for-the-buck factor of GreenGeeks.

The features are not bad, and nothing important is missing, but there’s not a whole lot of extra stuff either.

The only other real issue I had with GreenGeeks was its security.

greengeeks-security

Now, I’m not saying their security is necessarily bad, but just that they don’t have a lot of information about what they’re actually doing to be a secure service.

The lack of information is worrisome, as I think they should be very upfront, as other companies are, about their protocols and security features.

It sounds pretty bad when I leave it like that, but keep reading, because I promise it does actually get better.

GreenGeeks Pros

Those features? Well, there may not be a lot of extra fancy stuff, but it’s still a robust enough package for normal shared web hosting. Having unlimited domains and SSD web space alone are pretty decent for the price.

The environmental friendliness of GreenGeeks is definitely a plus. Not everyone will care too much, but it’s something that definitely appeals to a lot of eco-minded customers.

And the price? Well, like I’ve been saying, there’s a time commitment involved if you want to get a good price. But if you are okay with committing two or three years, it’s a pretty cheap service, and that’s a plus to me.

greengeeks-yearly-price

Additionally, the customer support is strong, with good documentation and resources, as well as responsive representatives.

Finally, it’s pretty easy to use, so you shouldn’t have too many problems setting up your account and building your website even if you’re new to the whole thing.

Security and Reliability

Security is important, and as GreenGeeks is a lesser known hosting service, you might naturally feel a little nervous regarding how trustworthy it is.

Well, it’s a bit iffy with GreenGeeks.

Their website talks about how they have a 99.9% uptime in a couple different places. That’s great, but it’s also kind of standard for any decent hosting service nowadays.

We have been monitoring GreenGeeks’s Uptime over the years. Here below you can see the history of last 9 months.

GreenGeeks Uptime Score (July 2018)
GreenGeeks July Uptime bigscreen

100% GreenGeeks uptime score for July 2018. Test website didn’t go down during this period.

GreenGeeks Uptime Score (June 2018)

Greengeeks June Uptime (tv mode)

99.96% Test website went down for 4 minutes during this period.

GreenGeeks Uptime Score (May 2018)

GreenGeeks Uptime Score May 2018-Big

100% GreenGeeks uptime score for May 2018. Test website didn’t go down during this period.

GreenGeeks Uptime Score (March 2018)
GreenGeeks-March-Uptime99.89% GreenGeeks uptime score for March 2018. Test website went down for 11 minutes during this period.
GreenGeeks Uptime Score (April 2018)
GreenGeeks-Uptime-Score-2018100% GreenGeeks uptime score for April 2018. Test website didn’t go down during this period.

GreenGeeks Uptime Score (February 2018)

Greengeeks_jan_tvmode

100% GreenGeeks uptime score for February 2018. Test website didn’t go down during this period.

GreenGeeks Uptime Score (January 2018)

GreenGeeks-Dec._tvmode

100% GreenGeeks uptime score for January 2018. Test website didn’t go down during this period.

GreenGeeks Uptime Score (November 2017)
siteground-oct100% GreenGeeks uptime score for November 2017. Test website didn’t go down during this period.
GreenGeeks Uptime Score (December 2017)
SiteGround-Nov.100% GreenGeeks uptime score for December 2017. Test website didn’t go down during this period.

Other than that? Well there’s really not much mention. Aside from searching through their website, I looked through other articles that may have any updated information about GreenGeeks’ security.

I found Green Geeks on Sitelock where their customers get special pricing on SiteLock products.

Website Security Trust Seals Protect Your Site with SiteLock Products

I couldn’t really find anything—nothing verifiable, nothing from a clearly trustworthy source, in any case.

Most strong hosting companies have an easy to find page on their website specifically talking about their security features and the layers of protection and encryption they’ve added to their services.

The absence of any truly solid information about how GreenGeeks’ keeps its clients’ information safe is worrisome to me.

On the other hand, I can’t seem to find many reviews mentioning an insecure service, and the issue doesn’t seem to come up in customer ratings more so than with other, more vocally secure, hosting companies.

I cannot in good conscience list security as a plus, because I simply don’t know. On the other hand, I can’t really say they have bad security either, as there isn’t much of a presence of complaints regarding security. I think the jury’s still out on this one.

See GreenGeeks Plans here…

GreenGeeks Plans & Pricing

There are a lot of ways to say this, but I’ll just give it to you straight: pricing is important.

Something annoying about the GreenGeeks website is a full list of pricing plans is hard to find.

Nonetheless, I’ve done the work so you don’t have to waste your time on it—here’s how the cost essentially breaks down.

Shared Hosting Plans

Details
Powerful
SpaceUnlimited
BandwidthUnlimited
PanelcPanel
Number of SitesUnlimited
Price$2.95/mo.
More Details

The lowest level web hosting plan is currently on sale for $2.99 a month, but generally it’s $3.95.

greengeeks-2.95

All app hosting packages (WordPress, Joomla, etc.) begin at this sale price as well.

After asking a rep, I found that there are different payment plans for the single shared hosting option:

  • $3.95 a month goes for three years of service,
  • whereas two years of service is $4.95 a month and
  • one year of service is $5.95 a month.
  • Paying per month of service is $9.95 a month, and set up is $15.00.

greengeeks-yearly-price

Domain registration would be $13.95 for .com, .net, .info, and .org, but .ca or .us would cost $18.95, but I believe only applies if you are not paying the $3.95 a month option.

Dedicated Hosting Plans

Details
ENTRY
STANDARD
ELITE
PRO
RAM2 GB4 GB8 GB16 GB
CPU2 x 1.60GHz4 x 3.10GHz4 x 3.20GHz6 x 2.00GHz
Space500 GB1000 GB1000 GB1000 GB
IP Addresses5555
Price$169/mo.$269/mo.$319/mo.$439/mo.
More Details More Details More Details More Details

Dedicated server hosting has four tiers labeled Entry, Standard, Elite, and Pro, which are at $169, $269, $319, and $439 a month respectively.

VPS Hosting Plans:

Plan Name
Space
RAM
CPU
Price
VPS125 GB1 GB4 cores$39.95
VPS250 GB2 GB4 cores$59.95
VPS375 GB3 GB4 cores$79.95
VPS4100 GB4 GB4 cores$99.95
VPS5125 GB5 GB4 cores$159.95

Virtual Private Server (VPS) hosting as five tiers. The first, at 1 GB RAM is $39.95 per month. The following four tiers, from 2 GB RAM to 8 GB RAM, range from $59.95 to $159.95 a month.

Free Domain is included when purchasing any hosting service from GreenGeeks

Server Locations:

  • Chicago
  • Phoenix

 

  • Toronto

 

  • Amsterdam

Overall the pricing is solid, but it’s really out of the way to find more detailed pricing plans per product—you either have to ask a rep directly or go straight to the checkout page.Luckily, there is a 30 day money back guarantee, so that’s nice.Overall I think the pricing is pretty good, but it’s mostly good if you’re willing to commit yourself to two or three years. If you can though, it’s a pretty great deal.

GreenGeeks Features

Features are everything. Even a low price can be made irrelevant if the features aren’t good, of course a high price can become more justified if the opposite is true. So how do GreenGeeks’ features stack up?

*note: this features section is mostly tackling the normal, shared web hosting plan that starts at $3.95 a month.

The GreenGeeks features line-up is meant to appeal to all types and all needs—from experienced business owners to people making their first personal websites.

So it’s fitting that they have unlimited domains per account, as well as unlimited SSD web space and data transfer.

They also have free domain name transfer/registration (again, for that particular pricing plan), a free website builder, free templates, a free website transfer service, and free marketing and SEO tools.

Tech support is available 24/7 and everything is supposed to be pretty secure—GreenGeeks has a 99.9% uptime, so you don’t need to worry about your site going down, and your custom email addresses are also supposed to be protected.

Features
All Plan Include
DomainsUnlimited
SSD SpaceUnlimited
Domain Setup & TransferFree
24/7 Technical SupportYes
Website BuilderFree
Marketing and SEO ToolsFree
Email AccountsSecure IMAP/POP3
Visit GreenGeeks

Yeah, I’ll admit things could be fancier, and there could be some more features, but you’ll have everything you need to host your site, and of course, the eco-friendliness is a perk for your conscience.

Let’s not forget, after all, that the 300% carbon offsetting means you actually do more good than harm for the environment via GreenGeeks servers—so that’s a pretty unique feature in their favor.

Even if it overall seems like there could be more, it’s comprehensive enough, and for a pretty low price if you can commit to a couple years.

Customer Support

Customer support is one of the most important points for any hosting service.

Sure, everything may be designed to be as slick and intuitive as possible, but unforeseen problems always come up and even if they don’t, it’s good to have a lot of resources for customers who want to learn more and maximize their service.

Right off the bat, there are three main ways a customer or potential customer can get direct assistance: via email, live chat, or phone support.

GreenGeeks Support- phone

Phone support is unfortunately not 24/7, a bit unusual for a strong hosting service, but still open most of the day EST. Live chat is of course 24/7 and supposedly garners instant responses, whereas email supposedly should have a 15-20 minute response time.

There is a knowledge base containing FAQs, help articles, and how-to’s, and a tutorials page with step by step tutorials (as for why it’s not part of the knowledge base, go figure).

GreenGeeks Support- knowledgebase

The tutorials page is very cleanly organized and I can’t imagine anyone having too much trouble finding easy set up for whatever they’re hosting needs are. The knowledge base is less streamlined, but still orderly.

All in all I think the online documents provided are pretty solid. How about the direct customer support lines?

I think the live chat on this site works well. I know anecdotal evidence is only so valuable, but I found I got a very quick response.

greengeeks-customer-support1greengeeks-customer-support2

As you can see, the representative on live chat responded no less than one minute after I sent a question.

Unfortunately, you do have to use an email to start the live chat, but nonetheless, at least I got a fast response.

Overall, because the online documentation is strong and because I’ve had a good experience with the live chat, I’d say that customer support is something GreenGeeks does well.

See GreenGeeks Plans here…

Ease of Use

Being easy to use is a new gold standard for software nowadays. But is GreenGeeks easy to use?

Well, yeah, at least in my opinion. You have to keep in mind that it’s targeted towards a customer base with a wide range of technological wisdom.

The website builder could admittedly take some getting used to if you’re not used to website builders, but even that is pretty intuitive. There are a lot of themes to choose from, and while preset themes may not be for everyone, it’s definitely a good factor in making a hosting service easy to use.

Setting up an account is pretty easy, you just need to follow the instructions.

cpanel-greengeeks

If you do get stuck here or there managing your site, the online resources I discussed earlier could really affect how easy to use the service is.

In short, there’s not much I can say, but that’s a good thing—because it means everything’s fine and dandy. There’s not much of a learning curve to GreenGeeks at all, so while it’s not exceptionally easy to use it is not at all difficult either.

Conclusion

Alright, that’s a lot of stuff you just read (or skimmed, no judgment here), so let’s put it all together.

The pricing is good and provides a full package of features, even if it’s a more basic full package. However, if you can deal with the time commitment, it’s a really good deal.

The customer support, while not incredibly strong, is still plenty good. If you’re experience is like mine, a live chat rep will be responsive, and you can spend a lot of time learning more with the written documentation on the site.

It’s easy to use from account creation to website building to managing your domains—it’s designed to be intuitive and for the common person, not just the developer.

Security wise, GreenGeeks may lose some points, as they have very little written material detailing their protocols and security features, but on the bright side, it doesn’t seem to be an issue among reviewing customers, so it’s probably okay.

Overall, GreenGeeks is an imperfect, but still pretty strong hosting service. It has good value and should get the job done for the vast majority of its users.

 

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
GreenGeeks
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star
The following two tabs change content below.

Chris Wagner

Chris Wagner has 7 years of experience as Network Administrator. His areas of interest includes Servers, Network Management and Cloud Computing.